Farming looks mighty easy when your plow is a pencil, and you’re a thousand miles from the corn field. — Dwight D. Eisenhower

G-Free Foodie Guide – Ingredient Names for Gluten

10 Comments
G-Free Foodie Guide – Ingredient Names for Gluten
by G-Free Foodie Team, Posted June 26th, 2010 at 8:38 am

Use this G-Free Foodie Guide to Ingredient Names for Gluten to locate Gluten in food or cosmetics.  Look for these items, or anything similar on product packaging to avoid Gluten.  Some items, like Oats, can be processed to be Gluten Free (you can find G-Free Steel Cut or Rolled Oats in our online store).

Remember, if you see the words Wheat, Barley or Rye, or the allergen warning on a product lists wheat, that product contains Gluten.

Please see our G-Free Foodie Guide to Ingredients that MAY Contain Gluten for a list of ingredients that could contain Gluten.

  • Amp-isostearoyl hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Barley, Barley grass (may contain seeds)
  • Barley hordeum vulgare
  • Barley malt
  • Beer (Ale, Stout)
  • Bleached flour
  • Bran
  • Bread flour
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Brown flour
  • Bulgur
  • Cake flour (meal)
  • Cereal
  • Binding
  • Couscous
  • Dextrimaltose
  • Disodium wheatgermamido peg-2 sulfosuccinate
  • Durum flour
  • Edible starch
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Filler
  • Flour (usually means wheat flour)
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  • Gliadin
  • Gluten
  • Graham flour
  • Granary flour
  • Groats (barley, wheat, oat)
  • Hard wheat
  • Hydrolyzed wheat gluten
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein pg-propyl silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed wheat starch
  • Kamut
  • Macha wheat
  • Malt (made from barley)
  • Malt Extract, flavoring, syrup, or vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Matzo meal, semolina
  • Mir
  • Oat bran, oatmeal, oats, rolled oats, groats, flour
  • Oriental wheat
  • Pasta
  • Pearl barley
  • Persian wheat
  • Polish wheat
  • Poulard wheat
  • Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina Spelt, small
  • Sprouted wheat or barley
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Strong flour
  • Suet (in packets)
  • Textured Vegetable Protein – TVP
  • Triticale (a wheat-rye blend)
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Triticum vulgare flour lipids, germ extract, germ oil
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Unbleached flour
  • Vavilovi wheat
  • Vegetable starch
  • Wheat (Abyssinian hard, club, common, durum, timopheevi, bulgur, Shot)
  • Wheat bran extract, amino acids
  • Wheat berries
  • Wheat durum triticum
  • Wheat germ, germ extract, germ oil, or lipids
  • Wheat grass (may contain seeds)
  • Wheat nuts, protein or starch
  • Whole wheat, flour
  • Wild einkorn, emmer

Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

by medical assistant, Posted June 28, 2010 at 7:43 am

I have heard different persons say that Maltodextrin and Vinegar both have gluten in them. I didn’t see either on your list. Do you have any information on either of theses items?
Thank you!

by Stacie, Posted July 19, 2010 at 3:45 am

Stacie – Glad you asked! Any Gluten in Vinegar (except Malt Vinegar) is removed in the distillation process, the same way it is in wine.

“In the past, distilled vinegar (or white vinegar) has been listed as unsafe for people with celiac disease by the major organizations in the United States, but not by organizations in any other countries. This position changed in 2001. The Gluten Intolerance Group® and the Celiac Disease Foundation now state that all vinegar (except malt vinegar) is safe for people with celiac disease to consume. The American Dietetic Association has also stated…that distilled vinegar is gluten free."

In the United States, Maltodextrin is usually made from rice, corn, or potato. That isn’t the case in Europe, where maltodextrin is frequently made from wheat. Maltodextrin is a common food additive – a type of sugar that’s made by breaking down starch. (Despite its name, maltodextrin does not contain malt.)

Dextrin is not the same as Maltodextrin. Dextrin is a common additive that’s made by heating starch and it can come from corn, potato, arrowroot, wheat, rice or tapioca, so you would need to know the source of Dextrin to be sure it is Gluten Free.

You’ll find both Dextrin & Leavening Maltodextrin on our G-Free Foodie Guide to Products that MAY Contain Gluten list.

by Administrator, Posted July 19, 2010 at 4:15 pm

You post that wheatgrass contains gluten. Can you confirm, I have done extensive research and cannot find this to be true. Wheatgrass is not known to have gluten. As a celiac, I enjoy wheatgrass knowing that its gluten free and nutrient dense. Can you advise where you found the info, so I can do more research. Thanks in advance.

by AMV, Posted April 13, 2013 at 7:49 am

My apologies for the last post, please disregard as I was thinking of buckwheat. Again, my sincere apologies

by AMV, Posted April 13, 2013 at 7:53 am

Hey….nice page. However I couldn’t find ‘whey’ in your list of no-nos. a real killer for me :-( had some ricotta cheese the other day, thinking there would be nothing bad in it, but got the worst case of glutening in a long time.

by Dani, Posted October 6, 2013 at 11:27 pm

From NFCA: 100% pure whey protein is naturally gluten-free; however, you may be concerned about some versions of whey protein that contain peptide bound glutamine derived from wheat protein. Those products should not be used if you have celiac disease or are gluten sensitive.

by G-Free Foodie, Posted October 8, 2013 at 2:02 am

Leave a Reply


Join Our Email List
Email:  
Follow Us